Another 5 Movie Reviews

31.  The Intern (2015)

When this movie first came out I wasn’t 100% sold on the idea of it, as lately Robert De Niro movies have been very below par the last couple years and I just predicted this to be another one. How wrong I was! This was a very sweet feel good movie that I could enjoy again and again. Anne Hathaway and De Niro have great on-screen chemistry which really helps this movies cause and the supporting cast also did a very good job at helping the story and central protagonists develop. De Niro plays a big-hearted retired widower who just wants to get back to work to ease the boredom of retired life & ends up becoming the intern to Anne Hathaway, who is the founder of an online fashion retailer. He has a heart of gold and ends up helping all of his new-found colleagues in one way or another. There’s an interesting mix of cultures with both classic and modern styles mingled together which reminds us that there’s a generational gap between what was and now what is. The comedy used didn’t hinder the story or take away any of its meaningfulness either which helped make this a very good, enjoyable movie which anybody can just sit back and enjoy. 8/10

32. Trainspotting (1996)

With the release of Trainspotting 2 out this year, I decided to finally watch the first one 20 years after it was originally released. I had previously seen five minutes of this a long time ago, only bit I saw was the toilet seen of Ewan McGregor climbing into the toilet and I had not a clue what was going on so decided to turn it off and come back to it sometime to watch it in its entirity. I was blown away with how good it was, the story was gritty and believable and the acting was sublime. Each character did their part to create the brilliance that this story told, Ewan McGregor was incredible and he hasn’t been able to replicate a performance like this in any of his other movies I’ve seen, same goes for Robert Carlyle. I’m really surprised it has taken me so long to watch Trainspotting but better late than never, I’m not looking forward to watching the sequel and it definitely won’t be taking me twenty years to watch the next one. This has definitely been the best movie I’ve seen this year, hopefully along my journey I can find more gems like this. 10/10

33. Humanoids from the Deep (1980)

This 80’s science fiction horror movie is about a failed science experiment which created a half man, half fish mutant creature who terrorize a small fishing village by killing its men and kidnapping and raping the women to breed and expand their species. The movie started off pretty slow and the acting was borderline laughable. Once the manfish appear it starts to get a little interesting and the action starts picking up making the movie at least sort of watchable. The appearance of the manfish is quite ridiculous but I suppose it’s as good as you’re going to get for a low-budget 80’s horror movie. I was hoping to find a hidden gem with this one but unfortunately this one just another poor horror which lacked any real appeal. 4/10

34. National Treasure (2004)

Treasure hunting adventure starring Nicholas Cage and Diane Kruger with Sean Bean supporting as the bad guy he plays so well. I’m not 100% sure why I’ve not watched this before, but never used to give it any real consideration when I would be looking for something to watch but this year is a little different and thought why not? Really glad I did, Nicholas Cage plays a historian looking to find the legendary Templar Treasure before a group of mercenaries (Sean Bean and his crew of bad guys) The movie was fun, interesting and had many twists and turns as well as a romance brewing as a side plot. Sean Bean puts in a good performance as he usually does in such a role, he’s well suited to playing the bad guy and generally puts in a convincing performance and National Treasure was no different. This is a good family flick which I thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend to anybody who hasn’t already seen it. 7/10

35. National Treasure: Book of Secrets (2007)

Nicholas Cage revisits the role of Benjamin Gates and rather than trying to find long-lost treasure he now seeks clues left in John Wilkes Booth’s diary to clear his ancestor’s innocence and in the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Another adventure filled with twists and turns and clue seeking and trying to outwit his rival, Mitch Wilkinson, played by the brilliant Ed Harris. I’ve always been a fan of Ed Harris, he’s a great actor who always delivers a good performance and this was no different. Between this and the first one, I probably prefered Ed Harris over Sean Bean in the bad guy role, the rivalry between Ed Harris and Nicholas Cage felt like more of a natural and fluid rivalry. The only criticism I would have of this sequel would be that the general story, although two different hunts and clues to search for, was very similar to the first one. Nicholas Cage vs enemy in a race to find clues before each other to uncover the secret, it was a successful formula for the first one but I would’ve liked the sequel to perhaps try to be a little different. I was glad that Jon Voight had a bigger role to play in the second installment and I enjoyed the inclusion of Helen Mirren into the story. 7/10

Stay tuned for the next 5 coming shortly!

Leave a Reply

