First 5 Movies of the Year

I have decided that 2017 will be the year where I watch as many movies as I can for the first time. I have amassed a large DVD collection, but find myself re-watching the same movies over and over again. I have always bought a large pile of DVDs at a time but most of them find their way on to the shelves and stay there only to be forgotten about. I want to slowly progress through the collection of unseen movies and find excellent movies that I would otherwise missed out on seeing. This is where it all began:

1.Pretty Woman (1990)

I think anybody who knows anything about movies already knows the story of Pretty Woman. In my opinion this is the role that made Julia Roberts into a household name. I had only ever seen brief moments of this movie many years ago, but never in it’s entirety. I didn’t really expect much from Pretty Woman but was  pleasantly surprised with what I watched. Richard Gere & Julia Roberts shared great on screen chemistry and despite the story being predictable and Cinderella-esque I was fully invested in the characters and found myself immersed within the story. For somebody who doesn’t watch too many movies from this genre it was a nice, pleasant surprise to start off my 2017.   7/10

2. The Ghost  (2010)

The Ghost is a movie that is about a ghost writer (Ewan McGregor) who has been hired to complete the memoirs of a former British Prime Minister (Pierce Brosnan) only to discover secrets that puts his own life at risk. This movie also features Kim Cattrall and was directed by Roman Polanski and has somewhat crept under the radar. With it’s somewhat high profile cast & director, it’s not really been a widely received movie & I’d say the average movie watcher would never stumble across this. I’ve never been a huge fan of anything Pierce Brosnan, so that unfortunately made it hard for me to properly enjoy this movie. I find all round he’s a very below average actor with little charisma on screen. I enjoyed Ewan McGregor and thought he somewhat rescued this movie from being a very poor one. With many twists and turns in this movie, it was all very predictable & didn’t really deliver. 5/10

3.The Maze Runner (2014)

When this movie first got released a couple years ago I saw the trailer and wasn’t a huge fan of what I had seen. As the series picked up pace and the second one got released & with the third movie imminent I decided to give it a ganders to see what it was all about. I didn’t really know much about the story other than a group of lads were stuck within a maze with no way out and were being attacked by some kind of droids for trying to find an escape route. I was a big fan of Will Poulter in this, as I have liked him in pretty much everything I’ve seen him in thus far, he acts as the camp “leader” so to speak until Thomas (the main protagonist) arrives in camp and starts asking too many questions and changing the day to day routine. The movie develops nicely with a lot of likable characters within the group. It concludes at the logical point of leading right into the sequel, which I was keen to see after seeing this. 6/10

4. The Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (2015)

After viewing the first in this franchise, I was keen to pick up where it left off and continue the adventure. With the introduction of new characters which,  unlike the first movie, I found very hard to get behind or care about. The movie didn’t continue as the first left off and I was left hugely disappointed by the movie overall. After seeing this I’m not overly looking forward to the third movie which is due to be released at some point next year. I will watch it, just to finish off the franchise, but will probably wait for DVD release as opposed to rushing out to see it in the cinema. I can’t think of many sequels that left me so bitterly disappointed as The Scorch Trials. 3/10

5. The Shallows (2016)

A  movie that was released last year features Blake Lively who is stranded a few hundred yards off shore on a small rock trying to avoid the jaws of a shark who is relentlessly attacking her. These kinds of movies, where you have one character through the majority of the films are very hard to properly get into. Very similar to Buried where it’s just Ryan Reynolds in a coffin for 90 minutes, this is Blake Lively laying on a small rock in the ocean for the better part of an hour and a half. It did as good as it could do given the circumstances, was quite enjoyable watch despite the shark being pretty unrealistic in it’s mannerisms and appearance. 6/10

Leave a Reply

